2017: My Reading List

Hey guys, sorry I haven’t posted in a few weeks but I’ve been “revising” (oh the irony) for my mock exams which start on Monday yikes, and I was in Germany this week to see my grandma and family and just got back a few hours ago!  I don’t know about you, but 2016 ended happily, I was surrounded by family etc etc but I felt like I failed to accomplish things that year, other than homework- like reading.

  Basically, this is a list of books I want to read this year, updating it as I go along, and maybe adding more– so that when it’s time for 2018 I’ll hopefully have read  the books (most anyway) and written reviews : )

READING LIST

  • Villette– Charlotte Bronte
  • Shooting an Elephant and other essays- George Orwell
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower- Stephen Chbosky
  • One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich- Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
  • Call for the Dead- John le Carre
  • More than this- Patrick Ness
  • Alone in Berlin- Hans Fallada
  • Doctor Zhivago- Boris Pasternak
  • Persuasion- Jane Austen
  • Monsters of Men- Patrick Ness
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude-  Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Trial- Franz Kafka
  • Thirteen Reasons Why- Jay Asher
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s- Truman Capote
  • Fangirl- Rainbow Rowell (I’ve read it before but neeed to read it again x)
  • Power Systems- Noam Chomsky
  • Eleanor and Park- Rainbow Rowell
  • Where the air is clear- Carlos Fuentes
  • Homage to Catalonia- George Orwell
  • Great Expectations- Charles Dickens
  • Facial Justice- J.P Hartley
  • Anna Karenina- Leo Tolstoy
  • The Catcher in the Rye- J D Sallinger
  • Little Women- Louisa May Alcott
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray- Oscar Wilde

It’s not much at the moment, but this school year I don’t have a lot of time due to my GCSEs, so most reading will be during the summer holidaaayys 🙂

If you’ve read any, comment your opinion on the book, it would be lovely to see what you all thought!

Adios,

Alina xxx

8 thoughts on “2017: My Reading List

  1. A Bookkeeper's Notes says:

    Highly ambitious! Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my most favourite novels because the characterisation of Holly Golightly is so complex that you get a different understanding of her everytime you read it. Also, I haven’t read Catcher in the Rye but a friend of mine who has recommends reading it when you’re still in high school to get the most out of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

